Festival of Contemporary Art: 24/7 - 1/9/2013 @ Ptuj - Slovenija


2003 - 2013
(Jernej Forbici, Art Director)

2012 was a landmark year for the ART STAYS International Festival of Contemporary Art. We celebrated our 10th anniversary and played an important role in the European Capital of Culture Maribor 2012, which brought much attention to the exceptional cultural offer of Ptuj.

This year we are back with a programme full of new events: from local to international, from large- scale to intimate. The 2013 festival includes projects that outline the current situation in the world of contemporary, especially visual art. We named it EXPOSE on purpose, as we do not wish to give it a common thread other than to show the diversity of contemporary art of the world. The festival’s audience is varied and Ptuj is not a large city, so creating narrowly focused projects would not bring the desired results. Over 25,000 people visited the festival last year and we hope that the number will be even higher this year.

The festival is here to inspire, please, entertain, and challenge. We present and host artists that shine in museums and biennales worldwide, and artist that will shine in the near future. We aim to show works by the currently most established artists and simultaneously wish to promote local artists and art environment in order to help our region become an even more important cultural destination, which is also reflected in the fact that we are opening up our exhibition spaces and stage this year to many Slovenian artists and taking Slovenian art into our partners’exhibition spaces abroad.

Some of the greatest names of the contemporary art scene have been choosen and will be hosted at the Festival ART STAYS 2013:

Felipe Aguila (CHL), Andy Atkinson (GBR), Bernard Aubertin (FRA), Aqua Aura (ITA), Chan Hyo Bae (KOR), Janet Bellotto (CAN), Luisa Catucci (ITA/DEU), Elio Ciol (ITA), Alessia Cocca (ITA), Marcello Corrá (ITA), Mike Crawford (GBR), Maitha Demithan (ARE), Laurent Dierckx (BEL), Paul Dumont (BEL), Pia Fernandez (ESP), Kate Fichard (FRA/GBR), Giuseppe Gonella (ITA), Marcus Jansen (USA), Maša Jazbec (SVN), Maria Rosa Jijon (ECU), Stojan Knežević (SLO), Stojan Kerbler (SLO), Roberto Kusterle (ITA), Ina Loitzl (AUT), Olga Lah (USA), Mark Mangion (MLT), Susanna Majuri (FIN), Marotta&Russo (ITA), Sabrina Milazzo (ITA), Martina Zelenika - Moon (CRO), Graziano Meneghin (ITA), Andrea Morucchio (ITA), Bojan Novaković (SRB), Viola Pantano (ITA), Špela Pavli (SVN), Perino&Vele (ITA), Daniele Pignatelli (ITA), Maria Teresa Gonzalez Ramirez (MEX), Nastja Säde Rönkkö (FIN), Namsal Siedlecki (USA/ITA), Polona Tratnik (SVN), Walter Trecchi (ITA), Alice Zanin (ITA).